Skip to content

On the cover of Vogue Knitting International, early fall 2012

July 25, 2012

COVER IMAGE_Vogue Knitting_Early Fall 2012 Issue_Lace Poncho_designed by Lisa Daehlin_Photography by Rose CallahanI gotta say, it IS more than a bit thrilling to see one’s work on the cover of VOGUE KNITTING. I’ve had several designs published in Vogue, Interweave, Knit Simple, and other magazines and books. This is the first time I’ve had the pleasure of seeing stitches I fashioned being splayed across the glossy COVER of the magazine. Well, there was that one once upon a time (kinda obscure, truth be told) pamphlet/booklet of patterns which chose a hat I made as a cover (disclaimer: not that the publisher or the series is obscure, I say that merely because no one I know ever purchased it, I never saw it on the shelves, perhaps simply due to distribution issues, as in “it was not sold in the stores where I shop” or “it’s retailing in a different state, to another market” etc.  But I digress (I tend to do that, but how else does one find the roses of which to then stop take an inhalation….are these strewn thoughts roses? I’ll leave that to your discerning scent-sations).  […however, I encourage you to find the connection between meandering and the lines sinewing, spiraling, and circuit-izing with abandon within the lace knitting…]

Pattern details of the Lace Poncho can be found on Ravelry.

I’ve worked up another sample of this design (which will be on view at Knitty City for the next several weeks) in a violet blue color of the same Koigu yarn. Knitty City Bag_Blue koigu lace poncho_Lisa Daehlin

I worked on this (second version) of the garment as I travelled to Northfield, Minnesota [stay tuned for details on a class I’ll be teaching at Northfield Yarn in October, ’12], then put the finishing touches on it back in NYC.  Knitting in public (KIP for those of us hip to that lingo😉 can generate a range of responses from those around us. They espy the movement of our tools and the growing fiber as it tumbles mysteriously from our needles: strands becoming stitches, rows, yardage. On one particular day of knitting in Manhattan, I had two quite different encounters in cafes/coffee shops. The first started out engagingly enough, “what are you knitting?”, “my grandma used to knit”, etc. then somehow moved into a sales pitch for how that person’s religion would be a good thing for me to adopt. SIGH!  I guess that we all see the world through our own lenses and make sense of it by relating things/people/events to what makes sense for each of us…. somehow, me knitting a lace poncho made best sense to that person if I listened to a spiel of that particular religious organization (still not entirely sure of which one it was). … moving right along…. a bit later that same afternoon, and at a different patisserie… feeling more than a bit closed off after the previous conversation, I wasn’t entirely forthcoming when one of the two guys at the table next to me posed the seemingly benign question “what are you knitting?” “A lace poncho” “Nice. My wife’s a knitter.”… he went back to his conversation with his friend. A bit later came Round 2 of what turned out to be a refreshingly different conversation from the one I had fled earlier in the day. I enjoy finding out how people respond to different colors. One of my questions is “what would you call this color?” (particularly an open-ended question when it comes to yarns showing hints of several colors, as this Koigu yarn does). Turns out, this guy has a background in graphic designer and has knowledge of color in particular. “violet, purple, … has a red base” etc. We have a conversation about the value of handmade fabric and how in some places, that is a lost art, yadda, yadda. Not a whisper of trying to convince me that his angle on life is the one I should adopt. So I tell him about the previous conversation. Whereupon he laughs robustly, says “My religion involves lasagna for Christmas”. Still not entirely sure what he meant by that (if he’s reading this, maybe I’ll find out) but I LOVED it! I couldn’t have seen that one coming.🙂

This image (knitting and yarn ball) offers a fairly close representation of the yarn color (although add in a dash more violet/lavender and it’ll be spot on).

As of May this spring, I count myself among the alumni of Teachers College, Columbia University, a recent grad of the Music and Music Education program. Focusing my time on studies there is one reason for my couple of years of hiatus from publishing knitting/crochet patterns. I’m someone who loves to melange les choses (such as with words which one wouldn’t normally smush up against each other). So, I couldn’t resist taking this photo of John Dewey wearing the Lace Poncho I designed for this issue of VK. John Dewey sculpture at Teachers College wearing lace poncho de Lisa_designed by Lisa Daehlin_pattern published in Vogue Knitting, early fall 2012

 

As you can see, the color isn’t near true, but in the spirit of one of the great thought-provokers among educational ponderers, I share it with you today. Now, to those who find this image to offer juxtapositions too odd to handle, I offer the perspective of “let’s put seemingly disparate things next to each other and see what kind of a light they shine on each other.” Perhaps we’ll have ground a new lens through which something unexpected will be espied. Perhaps we’ll be able to more deeply engage with others whose ideas are so different from our own. Perhaps we’ll wake up on Christmas morning with an inexplicable hankering for lasagna…. purple, violet lasagna with a strong undertone of red.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Judi permalink
    July 25, 2012 4:37 am

    Lisa, it is simply GORGEOUS! And congratulations for making the cover. It is a well-deserved honor!

    • July 26, 2012 1:32 am

      Thank you Judi! You were a strong influence in my learning of lace knitting. I think you might have been the first person I ever saw doing the thing which I later came to know as “yarn-over” or “lace knitting”. Remember those early days at UWS Knitters? Thank you for all your kind encouragements as you have fostered “worlds colliding”. -Lisa

  2. July 25, 2012 12:14 pm

    Beautiful! And congratulations on the cover!

    lem

  3. July 25, 2012 1:57 pm

    Clearly the editors knew exactly what they were doing! It is a stunning piece! Congratulations!

  4. Kelsey permalink
    August 11, 2012 5:46 pm

    This is such a beautiful design. I’d love to see a picture of someone wearing it with her arms to her sides. *hint hint* Great job and congrats on the cover!

    • August 12, 2012 2:12 am

      Kelsey,
      Thanks! I’ll see what I can do about another photoshoot sometime soon. I have some other designs in the not too far offing and will get the photos posted as soon as things are at that stage.😉
      Lisa

  5. October 1, 2012 10:29 pm

    Question on pattern. My vogue issue does not have wrong side row directions for this poncho. Are there any corrections? Also, I needed to go to a size 4 needle to get gauge. This is very unusual for me. Any one else have this problem?

  6. October 2, 2012 12:58 am

    Oppps!! Ok so work is in the round, no wrong sides, however, do you have a suggestion on how to check gauge?

    • October 2, 2012 1:54 am

      Lora:
      Ah, I see you found the solution.. yes, it’s in the round, so no “purl” or WS rows (you’ll see that there are some alternating plain stockinette rows in the “day-lily” pattern, but all rows in the “pyrenees lace” pattern have some lacework happening – I modified it from the traditional to get that more spider-webby-open look).
      Re Gauge – I’d suggest that you make a healthy sized swatch (2 repeats of each stitch pattern (if only doing one stitch, make it the “dayflower” as you have those plain stockinette rows in there stabilizing the fabric – it is my opinion that they affect/limit gauge more and are less easily blocked open than the more open-work). Also, that stitch pattern is the one that is designed for the width of the front/back rather than for the more wing-like “sleeves”. Then, BLOCK the swatch. That should give you a pretty good idea of gauge.
      Good luck!
      btw: You’ll likely find some input from others re their gauge, etc. if you check out the Ravelry project page for this design http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/05-lace-poncho

  7. Rose permalink
    October 16, 2012 1:43 am

    Could you review the Vogue Mag instructions for Finishing: Collar – Rnd 2 indicates you should rep from * around, but there is no * indicated in the instructions for that round.

    • October 17, 2012 12:41 am

      Rose: Thanks for catching this. It should read as follows:
      Rnd 2 *K1, (p1,k1) into double yo, k1; rep from * around.

      • rcwilliams77@comcast.net permalink
        October 18, 2012 2:04 am

        Thanks

Leave a Reply

