Skip to content

Interviewed by Vogue Knitting _ Lisa Daehlin: Crochet Lace Cabaret

July 1, 2012

VOGUE KNITTING did me the lovely honor of interviewing me for their JUNE E-NEWSLETTER. [ full article ]

Vogue Knitting e-newsletter_June2012_Lisa Daehlin_Crochet Lace Cabaret_Photo by Rose Callahan, Vogue Knitting 2012

Vogue Knitting e-newsletter_June2012_Lisa Daehlin_Crochet Lace Cabaret_Photo by Rose Callahan, Vogue Knitting 2012

Patterns Editor Renee Lorion and I discussed elements of my designs seen to be “genre-mashing”.   I LIKE that, and I find it particularly apt.

It wasn’t until just recently that I realized there was such similarity between my aesthetic in terms of the fabrics I design and in the music I perform: both exhibit distinct signs of delving deeply into specific styles and traditions but also incorporate strong elements of “cross-over”… in that the blending of elements considered by many to be different or unrelated is something I find to be intriguing and for which I seem to have a certain facility.

At times, such a juxtapositions can be a challenge to pull off. Other times, by expanding ones palette and repertoire of choices, the ideas seem to present themselves. Such is the case in the garment which prompted this interview. Read the full interview here.

MORE DETAILS ON THE DESIGN and INFO ON WHERE TO PURCHASE THIS PATTERN.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Enid permalink
    July 5, 2012 2:06 am

    Lisa, another Awesome Performance!!!
    Enid

  2. July 24, 2012 10:46 pm

    Hey Enid! Nice to hear from you. And thanks for your kind comment.🙂

Leave a Reply

