Skip to content

Wendy Freund – artist and keeper of records at NYFoundling

October 20, 2009

Teaching knitting brings me to many places and introduces me to many people.  Our paths crossing for an afternoon (a one-day workshop at Knitty City or other venue) or for several weeks (classes at Cooper Union). The length of time doesn’t seem to limit how quickly the connection can be forged when life introduces us to someone who shares a common love. In this case, the common love is weaving together fibers, strands and seemingly unconnected items. Little did I know that that is what this woman does for a career…

Wendy Freund knitting with plastic and Jelly Yarn.

Wendy Freund knitting with plastic and Jelly Yarn.

I first met Wendy Freund when she signed up for a knitting class at Cooper Union. She impressed me as someone who brought an artist’s eye to this medium. Based on the work she created in class, I know she is someone who finds and creates connection, whether among art supplies or among people. Therefore, it didn’t come as a complete surprise when, one morning as I was heading out the door to go about my day in the city, I heard her voice on the radio. It stopped me in my tracks as I listened to her describing the process of people searching to fill in the blanks in the stories of their lives (“starting a great book on the second chapter” particularly struck me). Her voice poured out of my clock radio, telling of her involvement as record-keeper with the New York Foundling (one of NYC’s oldest foster care agencies), where this multifaceted woman is involved in endeavors weaving the strands of peoples’ lives together. I found myself thinking of the friends I know whose lives are touched by similar stories, some of them finding beautiful resolution and a new extended family. Others having different journeys. I invite you to hear Wendy talk about her work: LISTEN TO THE INTERVIEW ON WNYC
AARP ARTICLE

Wendy explores the medium of Jelly Yarn (it glows in the dark!).

Wendy explores the medium of Jelly Yarn (it glows in the dark!).

Swatch (by wendy freund) knitted of plastic and Jelly Yarn.

Swatch (by wendy freund) knitted of plastic and Jelly Yarn.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

